Tips, Tricks n’ Techniques Thursday

Standard

Good morning to all my fellow crafty friends!!

This was supposed to post yesterday but I accidentally saved it as a draft.  So it’s tip, tricks n’ techniques on Friday instead.

Today I have a great technique video on triple stamping.  I also have a trick for making a custom-colour stamp pad and a tip to share.

You may recall, last week I mentioned a website called splitcoaststampers.  If you’ve had a chance to visit you’ll discover a whole community of stampers and paper crafters, along with an amazing tutorial section.  This video is another from the collection of theirs.

The technique isn’t new but it creates a beautiful card and is easy to recreate.

My trick this week involves ink refills and baby wipes.  Baby wipes have become a staple in my craft room.  From cleaning embossing folders and letterpress plates to wiping my ink pads clean after a particularly messy session — and now for creating custom-colour ink pads.  I’m including a short video on it, just incase you’re interested to see a visual.  The trick is simple: take a baby wipe; fold in half and half again; place on plastic plate or palette; add drops of ink from darkest to lightest until you’re pleased with the effect; ink your stamp like you would with a regular ink pad and then stamp.  That’s it!  I’ll be posting my creations using the triple stamping technique and custom-colour ink pads over the weekend.

My tip this week involves bakers twine and buttons.

Use a needle threader and large eye needle to thread your bakers twine through buttons and to “sew” onto your cards.  I use a book-binding needle and a needle threader from my sewing kit.  If you don’t want to sew the button on your card, you can still use the twine to create the sewn look and then use sticky dots to adhere the button to your card.

sig2

One response »

  1. Pingback: Mother’s Day Triple Layer Card | Rhonda's Creative Blog

Leave a Reply

